We’ve ‘got the goods’ because we’ve got ‘The Good’

The following is a thank-you letter that I originally wrote to an electrician that I have come to know over the past year. He is middle-aged, has a wonderful personal relationship with the Lord, and does his best to personally  share Christ as he plies his trade.

I share it  because the letter articulates a couple of points the Lord has been impressing on me: 1) the importance of our prayers  2) that we shouldn’t underestimate the power of the Lord’s presence in ourselves as  believers.

I was doing some handyman work at a woman’s house recently when I inadvertently tripped the main circuit; which then wouldn’t reset, leaving the premises without power. She had no light while the evening fast approached.

This dear man went out of his way to come to the residence in response to a call I made seeking his counsel. He immediately rescheduled his afternoon, showed up within minutes, reset the circuit, and even stayed to help complete the day’s work, all because he felt the Lord was using him to answer prayer.

Dear Dale,

My wife and I wanted to thank you for the good work you did for us recently, installing the patio circuit, as well as for your generous pricing. I also wanted to thank you for your intervention in the situation concerning dear Barbara. What a godsend you were to us.

I’m still amazed at what the Lord did. Yours, and of course the Lord’s intervention, were such a direct answer to prayer. I know it spoke to Barbara tremendously and was such a testimony. Not only were we experiencing the electrical problem, but Barbara was having a real “bad-hair day” due to a combination of factors—so much so that at one point she was in tears on her back porch. I gently suggested we pray and put everything in the Lord’s hands and ask Him to work things out, which we did. That’s when you showed up and prayer began to kick in.

In seeking to share the gospel on a personal level, as you also do in your daily work, I’m impressed with the simplicity the Lord has given us as His followers; simplicity coupled with power.

I’m reminded of the scripture, “And my speech and my preaching was not with enticing words of man’s wisdom but in demonstration of the spirit and of power, that your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men but in the power of God” (1 Cor. 2:4–5).

I’ll use a cliché to paraphrase this scripture and put it in a somewhat more relatable fashion, as I see it applying contemporarily: We (as believers and disciples) have “the goods,” so to speak, because we’ve got “the Good” (Jesus). I’m amazed that because we have the Lord and His Spirit in our lives and hearts and He dwells and manifests in and through us, this in turn gives us such simple, yet direct power.

I find that, in seeking to share the Lord with people, we can talk about doctrine, theory, opinion, and philosophy all we want, and a certain amount of this is inevitable and necessary. But the thing that cuts to the chase and gets to the heart of the matter is God’s presence dwelling within us, His Spirit in us. It’s here and now, on this earth, in this realm: Emmanuel (God with us).

I’ve been having intermittent conversations with a dear Chinese American repairman and friend, whenever he helps service some of my equipment. He asked, What if you get to the other side (if there is another side), and you find out that all you did, thought, believed, and the doctrine you followed and taught, was wrong. What are you going to do then? It will be too late.

I replied, I don’t have to wait, theorize, and cling to some doctrine that I hope will save me in some future world. I have my salvation here and now. Jesus is with me and in me, His presence is manifest in my life now, today. I couldn’t have a greater personal assurance than that.

All of this is to just say thank you, and to perhaps encourage you in your efforts.

 © Copyright 2012 John Hislop

Leave a Reply

