Imagination, books and digital imagery

imaginationMy morning devotions was interesting, doubly so, due to the fact that the subject of my reading [Ezekiel 7-11] coincided with some additional reading, Leanne Payne’s The Broken Image. The subject  referred to in both; unbeknownst to me at the time, is that of the ‘imagination’. The following is what I noted at the time from my reading of Ezekiel:

Then said he unto me, Son of man, hast thou seen what the ancients of the house of Israel do in the dark, every man in the chambers of his imagery? for they say, the Lord seeth us not; the Lord hath forsaken the earth. Ezekiel 8:12

A too quick reading of this passage and you’re tempted to think the reference here is to physical darkness and mental images of shady figures conspiring in the darkness arise. However, the darkness being spoken of is that of our thought life, our imagination, our inner life, what others don’t see but the Lord knows us to be. Obviously, then, the nature or constitution of our ‘imagination’ is an area of great concern to God.]

Then in Payne’s chapter, Listening for the Healing Word, much of the discussion centers on the ‘imagination’ and how the imagination is to be used in spiritual relationship with the Lord.

As I think about these things in relation to life today I realize how much our soul’s enemy seeks to pollute the imagination, using especially digital imagery. In a manner, at a velocity, and of a frequency unknown in the past, we are constantly being bombarded with digital imagery through the streaming and merging of digital media. Images that can only be described as coming directly from the pits of hell, and very occasionally, from the heights of heaven,  are conjured and created continually before our eyes, our consciousness.  In effect, we are in danger of having our very imaginations programmed for us. The direct impact is a constant assault of our inner beings. The overall bent is towards what can only be described as pollution, distortion, and corrupting of our inner imaginative processes.

This is something that I stress with my young granddaughter as I try to encourage her in her reading, particularly of the Classics and other edifying books, that the reason reading trumps movie watching is that a book is sparking your imagination in unfettered newness and uniqueness, whereas a movie is basically depicting for you what your mental image or imaginative conception will be: which in reality is limiting. It’s the difference between getting served up a canned meal as opposed to one you freshly prepare.

I don’t know about you but if and since ‘the kingdom of God is within us‘ I sure want to strive to be a whole lot more careful as to what I admit within the confines of my inner chambers.

“Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

 

Leave a Reply

