Standing on the shore of eternity

Note: Although I don’t write a lot of them, this is a poem I wrote in April which I felt echoes a synthesis of inner and outer experience at this point in my life.

wet sandI’m standing on the shore of eternity
Wet sand beneath my feet
Tides,
Ebbing and flowing
Touching shore
Waves,
Lapping
Ever nearer
Blurred horizon
Distant promise
Yet prove
Sure.

Mountains climbed
Valleys descended
Deserts wandered
Plains traversed
Waters forded.

Icy wind
Snowy blast
Arid heat
Fainting beat
Harvested past

Yet,
Confident
I Am
Knowing,
I’m upheld
By the same
Word
That frames
Eternity.

That,
As sure as I stand
Upon this shore
Vague horizons
Prove no more
I come to know
As I am known.

Leave a Reply

