‘The crust of self’ and other thoughts

coffeeWith every morn my life afresh must break
The crust of self, gathered about me fresh.—George MacDonald

 

 

The above is a good one to imbibe as you sip your morning coffee.

***

I noted the following in my journal recently:

It was a good day; although how do you really tell the difference between a good and a bad one? All days come of God.

***

I was tempted to get a little down with the way the day ended  but I then realized that self-pity is a luxury that cannot be afforded.

***

I think a perfect day for me would be to be able to be completely free in the mornings to read and write, followed by a short mid-day rest, followed by whatever other work I may have in the afternoons.

***

If I don’t pour out* as a Christian, I’m poor.

(*pour out: reaching out to others in empathy.)

 

Leave a Reply

